top of page

Dead Cells: A Game For All Generations!

Updated: Aug 22, 2021

If you caught one of my latest live streams on #Twitch, you know that I played a new game called Dead Cells. If not, catch the game-play replay below.


Dead Cells is a rogue-like side-scroller video game for Linux, Mac OSX, PS4, Nintendo Switch, Windows, Xbox One that is very reminiscent of Metroid and the Castlevania games. If you're an old-school video game player like I am, you'll love this. Why?


Aside from what I've already mentioned about it taking you back to the old days of gaming, it's challenging, but not so much that you start biting your controller. When you die, you die and go back to the beginning. There are no save points you can create every couple minutes. This forced me to actually use some strategy and get better at my choices and combat, rather than simply relying on hack-and-slash and button mashing, thinking in the back of my head, “Oh, if I die, I'll just go back to a save point.” No sir-ee!


Another thing that keeps it exciting, challenging, and fresh is that the caverns and areas you are in change! You more than likely will not be facing the same creatures, booty, and areas you experienced before you died the last time. Just something else to keep you on your toes.


One of the last really cool things is it is “Twitch ready” or whatever they call it when a game integrates with your Twitch channel. If you don't want to play the single player all by yourself and you live stream on your Twitch channel, you can start Dead Cells up in Twitch mode. When you're live streaming the game, the people in your chat can actually be a part of your game-play, helping you with healing, making choices for you in many different ways, and even making things a tad more difficult like throwing you into complete darkness or making your enemies invisible. Twitch mode puts a whole new spin on things!


Dead Cells, by Motion Twin, is a game that is hard for me to put down. I just have to keep dying, going back, dying, going back, all the while trying to see how much further I can get and how much better I'm getting.


If all that sounds as groovy to you as it is to me, grab your own copy of Dead Cells for the PC RIGHT HERE or HERE or for any of the consoles RIGHT HERE.


You're going to have a blast. Don't forget to come over to my Twitch channel and FOLLOW ME there. I live stream numerous times during the week with various games, chat, and lots of coffee. I'm sure I'll be coming back to play Dead Cells some more.


HAVE A FREAKING AWESOME DAY!


Tony




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page