top of page

DISCRIMINATION AT RED ROBIN

Updated: Nov 12, 2021

Well, I had a taste of true discrimination today at Red Robin Gourmet Burgers & Brews, specifically the location at 14797 N Kelsey St, Monroe, WA 98272 at approximately 11:45 PM, Saturday, October 16th, 2021.


Red Robin in Monroe, WA
DISCRIMINATION AT RED ROBIN, Monroe, WA

** UPDATE -- 11/12/2021 **


I have filed a discrimination report with the United States Department of Justice Civil Rights Division (civilrights.justice.gov) against the the Red Robin location at 14797 N Kelsey St, Monroe, WA 98272.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


This month of October is my birthday month. Aside from enjoying the food from Red Robin on a semi-regular basis and doing food reviews of their burgers on the Old Nerd Reviews channel, I've taken advantage of their Royalty Rewards Program for many years now. One of the groovy things is that they give you a free burger any time during your birthday month. Today, I went in to order that birthday burger to go, to celebrate my special day.


I was promptly denied service because I don't wear a face mask, for both medical reasons (I have PTSD) and religious reasons.


Without so much as a greeting, I was told by the gal at the front counter that I needed to put a mask on and that it was policy. I attempted to explain to her that I am exempt and do not wear them for the reasons stated above, and that I simply wanted to order my birthday burger to go. Ignoring my reasons, she offered me a mask. Once again, I told her I don't wear them. She sheepishly told me that she can't help me then. Another gal (I'm assuming a manager) came and told her that she would take care of it. The other gal left into the back of the restaurant.


I told the new gal that I simply wanted to order my birthday burger and leave. She told me that she would not take my order without a mask. I told her I don't wear masks based on the reasons I stated above. She told me that I could step outside the front door and call in the order. I suggested she step outside with me to take the order. She refused. I was blown away. I told her that I had no idea what I even wanted and asked for a menu. Once again, she refused my request, telling me that there is a menu on the Red Robin web site and I could pull it up on my phone and call them from outside the front door. I simply could not believe how rude and unhelpful she was to what-was-once a happy customer.


I reiterated what I was hearing and asked, “So you are discriminating against me and denying me service?” She affirmed that she was, almost proud of it, and insisted that I leave. I did not raise my voice, I was not rude, nor did I cause a disturbance. I simply stood up for myself. I let her know that I would not now nor ever return to any Red Robin based on the treatment I had just experienced. She told me that was fine with her. A lot of people will say that sort of thing to a business and it ends up being a statement made in the heat of the moment that turns out empty of substance. I am not like that. When I say something, I stand behind it. I will not be returning to Red Robin, nor do any reviews for them in the future.


Based on Title 2 of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, what she did definitely falls under the category of discrimination:


You have the right to full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations of any place of public accommodation. You cannot be treated differently by a place of public accommodation because of your race, color, religion, or national origin.” This also includes any medical conditions and disabilities.


All Americans are protected by the Constitution and nothing can cancel that out. The US Constitution is the law of the land and any policy, mandate, or even law that attempts to supersede anything in it is null and void. That is always the easiest way to tell if something is valid or not. Does it violate your rights under the color of law of the US Constitution? If so, you are not obligated to follow it because it is illegal.


No masks. I can't breathe.
No Masks. I Can't Breathe.

Further, no governor, mayor, or law enforcement officer has the right to violate your rights under the Bill Of Rights and the Constitution of the United States of America.


You may ask, well isn't Red Robin a private business? The key thing to note is that they are open to the public (a “public accommodation”), and therefore can't discriminate against anyone. What they do with their employees is between them and those employees, although discrimination is never okay no matter who it is. But the public is protected from discrimination and I most definitely was a victim of discrimination at the hands of Red Robin today.


I am seriously considering filing a discrimination lawsuit against Red Robin and the employees who denied me service at their Monroe, WA location. We are obligated as moral human beings to treat each other with kindness and respect and to always do the right and moral thing. That did not happen here, aside from being illegal. If people are not held accountable, chances are good they will repeat the abuse, and in this case, discrimination. Sadly, many people will only step up if their wallet is threatened.



Places like this need to realize that they NEED us in order to survive. We do not need them. They cannot afford to make decisions that put their livelihoods in jeopardy.


I refuse to let such a thing ruin my day, but, needless to say, I had a horrid experience at Red Robin, and wanted to make you aware of the situation. I hope you never have to experience something like this. Happy birthday to me. Right? :(


With that, I will let you go, but want to leave you with this: Never shirk away when treated badly. You are a creation who deserves to be treated with respect and dignity. Abuse of any kind is NEVER okay!


I'll keep you all updated on this situation as it progresses.


Tony

147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page